Caramel Apples

2016-10-25_1223_001

 

It’s amazing how much you can do with one bushel of apples.  I went to the annual Unicoi County, Tennessee Apple Festival early in the month and brought home a bushel of apples and I have canned apples, made Apple Raisin Walnut cakes, fried apple pies, apple fritters, an Old Fashion Stack Cake and today I made Caramel Apples.  I still have apples left!  I guess it’s another batch of fried apple pies for my hubby this week and maybe another Apple Raisin Walnut cake for my sister.
Can I just tell you that it’s not as easy making caramel apples as it seems.  Of course, I have to take it to another level too and instead of just dipping the apples in caramel and rolling them in crushed peanuts, I have to add chopped Reese cups, raisins, and miniature chocolate chips to the mix. I dressed them up proper for fall!  I did find out that all the leftovers make a fantastic trail mix.
2016-10-25_1225_001
I used  bamboo skewers instead of wooden popsicle sticks because I melted my caramel in a non-stick pot and the skewers were longer.  I usually take my apple off of the stick anyway because I just end up getting my face full of caramel when I eat them on a stick.  I like to slice my apples into wedges and eat them that way.  However  a person eats Caramel Apples, it is a delicious experience.
Finally, I got them done and placed on waxed paper. Waiting for them to set up is always the hardest.   While waiting, I just start scraping the pot of every last bit of caramel I can scrummage.  I was raised not to waste anything!
Ta da! Oh so yummy Caramel Apples were ready for my eating pleasure.  I ate and I was pleased!  Oh my, you have to make these with your family at least once this fall!  I’ll include a recipe in case you want to try this yummy treat.
2016-10-25_1228
Caramel Apples
Ingredients:
1 package caramels
2 tablespoons water
4 wooden sticks
4 large apples
2 cups chopped peanuts
1 cup miniature chocolate chips (optional)
1 cup chopped Reese cups (optional)
1 cup raisins (optional)
Directions:
In a large microwave safe bowl  combine the caramels and water.  Microwave uncovered on high for 45 seconds, stir. Microwave 20 – 40 seconds longer or until the caramels are melted; stir until smooth.  You can also use a non-stick small pot and slowly melt the caramels, stirring often.
Insert wooden sticks into apples; dip apples in the caramel mixture, turning to coat.  Coat with the nut mixture (and other ingredients if you choose).  Set on waxed paper to cool.
Cut into wedges or if you are adventurous, eat from the stick!
Tip:  If you are using apples from the store, wash well with warm water to get the wax off and dry well.  Caramel will not stick to wax or a moist apple that well.
I hope you try this and get the whole family involved! That’s good eatin’.

17 thoughts on “Caramel Apples

  1. Those look so good. I want to get a small slow cooker to melt chocolate and caramel etc in so I don’t mess up my pots. You can also dip in different chocolates after you do the caramel and roll in all kinds of stuff. Yum now I gotta go make some. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

